Some Bookish Odds & Ends

How cool is the above Instagram post from Levi? Pretty damn cool, I think! And I concur with him about A Stranger Dream, who makes wonderful horror-inspired bookmarks that are super high quality and absolutely beautiful. I’ve got several of her bookmarks on my shelves at home. Check out her Etsy shop when you get a minute!

After finishing Broken Shells, Levi was kind enough to leave a review on Amazon and Goodreads. Here’s part of what he said:

“This book had one of the top three most detailed, disgusting, horrific scenes that I have read in 2018. The kind that truly injects you into the horror of the moment. Intrigued? You should be.”

I have to say, I’m really happy (and yes, even a bit surprised) at how well Broken Shells has been received by readers. Over on Amazon, it’s sitting pretty with 40 reviews (and nearly 80 ratings on Goodreads), but more reviews are always welcome! If you’ve read, or are planning to read, Broken Shells, please leave an honest review, good or bad. I’d love to see this sucker crack 50 reviews by year’s end, if not sooner!

If you haven’t picked up a copy, Amazon only has 10 paperback copies left in stock at the time of this writing. Now might be a really good time to pick up your copy! And if you buy it from Amazon, you get the Kindle edition for free! If you’re looking for some spooky Halloween reads, now is a good time to shop. You can even buy some extra copies to stuff in trick-or-treater’s candy bags, if one were so compelled to horrifically scar young children with such a story as this.

A recent Bookstagram challenge asked Instagram readers to post their Top 9 of the year so far. Sadie Hartmann, aka Mother Horror, a reviewer for Scream Magazine and Cemetery Dance, posted her selections, which included - you guessed it - Broken Shells!

I am seriously awed by this. Finding readers who love and advocate my stuff is an incredible feeling, but I don’t know that I can adequately describe how it feels to see my stories stacked up alongside authors I love and enjoy myself, including Stephen King, who pretty much single-handedly made me want to tell stories my own self. Broken Shells is pictured here with several of my personal best reads of year, which makes me even more gratified and humbled.

Speaking of this year’s awesome books, I was recently asked to take a look at a couple forthcoming titles for possible blurbs, and I dug the hell out of both works and want to share them now that the cats are out of their respective bags.

stranded_renee miller.jpg

Stranded by Renee Miller is due out October 16 from Unnerving and is available for pre-order now. Part of my blurb appears on the book’s cover, but the full thing is printed on the book’s Amazon product page. Here’s what I had to say:

“Renee Miller has crafted a brutal tale of monsters and madness, one that will make your blood run cold. Perfect for fans of THE THING, STRANDED is arctic terror at its chillingly scary best.”
—Michael Patrick Hicks, author of BROKEN SHELLS and MASS HYSTERIA

Scapegoat by Adam Howe and James Newman is also an October release, launching on the 5th and will be available for pre-order beginning Sept. 27. This morning, Ink Heist posted their exclusive cover reveal so head on over there to check it out!

“A delightful backwoods detour through the three Rs of southern-fried horror: Rednecks, Revenge, and Wrestlemania! Howe and Newman pack in plenty of scares and wit, and cultists and carnage to spare, perfectly blending violence and humor in equally twisted measure. SCAPEGOAT is one of 2018’s most entertaining reads, chugging along with the speed and verve of Bandit’s Trans Am and fueled by pure joy. This is one goat you’ll definitely want to get!” – Michael Patrick Hicks  (Broken Shells; Mass Hysteria)

Hopefully these blurbs helped to whet your appetite for some lovely carnage dropping in just a few more weeks. I’ll have full reviews of both these titles soon, so stay tuned!

I also want to introduce you to a brand-new horror website with a very specific purpose. Co-founded by four women bloggers, Ladies of Horror Fiction launched earlier this month, and its goal is to help shine a spotlight on women and authors who identify as women in horror. In my opinion, this is a much needed resource and it’s a laudable effort well worth supporting. Women in horror are too often overlooked and underrepresented (and don’t give me any of this Women In Horror Month bullshit - there are women writers producing stories each and every day of the year, and they should be read and celebrated all year long rather than confined to a measly four weeks on the calendar). You should also check out the blogs of each of the women that helped bring Ladies of Horror Fiction to life:

Be sure to check out the Ladies of Horror Fiction site, their team members Instagram and blogging platforms, and keep an eye out for their forthcoming podcast. And if you’re looking for some great women horror authors to read right now, go check out their reviews and pour through their ever-growing LOHF Directory!

Michael Patrick Hicks

Michael Patrick Hicks is the author of the science fiction novels Convergence, an Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award 2013 Quarter-Finalist, and Emergence. His work has appeared in several anthologies, and he has written for the websites Graphic Novel Reporter and Audiobook Reviewer. In between compulsively buying books and adding titles that he does not have time for to his Netflix queue, he is hard at work on his next story.


Don't forget to hit Like and Share!

Follow my reviews on Amazon and Goodreads

If you enjoyed this post or others like it here, and would like to help keep this blog running,
you can support High Fever Books with a small Ko-Fi donation.